Hominy Grill and the Angel Oak – Charleston, SC

20160822_103741

I don’t normally go for the place that gets all of the attention from the food and travel shows, even as much as I love Anthony Bourdain and Adam Richman, because they rarely live up to the hype, but while I was in Charleston with a herd of fellow Butch Walker fans for his show at the Pour House we decided to visit the Hominy Grill for breakfast.

20160821_221017

We were starving and sleep deprived since we’d driven in the day before after a seeing Butch at the Tabernacle here in Atlanta and a late night visit to the beach by the light of our cell phone flashlights. It was the usual thing when you have a group that no one wants to make a decision, so I did. It had stellar reviews and was only about 5 minutes from our hotel. I’m sure on a weekend there would have been a terribly wait at 10:30, but since we were there on a Monday morning it wasn’t crowded at all. It was without question the best meal we had of the whole trip. I had the Charleston Big Nasty, which is a fried chicken biscuit with white cheddar and sausage gravy. It looked a little small at first, but honestly I couldn’t have eaten it if it were much larger. I did scrape every drop of gravy off of that plate, though.

For desert the BFF and I split another biscuit slathered in their peach ginger preserves, which sits on every table along-side a small vase with a couple fresh flowers. We each jars to take home with us and I picked up a copy of the cook book for my dad (hi, dad!).

After gorging ourselves on amazing food we made the trek out John Island. I say trek, but it’s really only about 15 minutes. One of our adventurers is a biologist so she HAD to see the 1000 year-old Angel Oak, and we all felt like we needed to take the opportunity to listen to Shovels and Rope on Johns Island.

It was HOT… and I don’t really do outside, but it’s pretty much impossible not to be impressed by a 1000 year old tree. They also had a cute little gift shop where you could by all manner of Angel Oak related items.

20160822_11461120160822_11463920160822_115559

 

Leave a Reply

